Introspection of The Lotus Manjè, Vol. 12

Legacy

Yesterday I went to go eat with my dad at a restaurant. It’s something we usually do on the weekends; at this point it’s a custom of ours. This time we talked about some things that happened in Haiti, things that I had never been told before. As I get older, I continue to hear more and more. What a world.

My father mentioned something about my grandfather, which gave me pause. In between three generations, our family has a small amount of people who I deemed “slackers.” My father and grandfather alone have been through and done things that are impressive, letting me know that the thought process I possess is not by accident, nor is it the wrong way. The two men just mentioned have created a legacy, and I am proud to be a part of it. I don’t intend to be the one to squander it, either. I have a lot of work to do, and I intend to make my family great.

Every now and then I ponder where life will take me, who I will meet and who I will have to go against to see my goals come to fruition. Regardless of the hurdles I’ll have to jump, I have a feeling that my life will be one hell of a ride before I have the peace of mind I desire, let alone what peace I can give to the people around me. The only consolation is that the peace will be earned, which is much better than it being given.

Leave a comment